top of page

Adjusting to the Burgh

Every adventure has a beginning. This one started on June 2nd as I traveled back to Pittsburgh to start my second summer with Breakthrough Pittsburgh



The morning of June 2nd, I frantically packed my car to head to Pittsburgh for my start with Breakthrough. We are lucky to be hosted by Robert Morris University in their apartment dormitories. This summer I have 3 other roommates: Maddy, Kavi, and Julianne. Maddy, Kavi and I are all returning for another summer with Breakthrough, but this is the first time for Julianne. The first few days are a whirlwind of getting to know the other TF's at Breakthrough. I remember last summer it felt very overwhelming. Like the first day of school and not knowing who to sit with at lunch. But slowly, you find your way. This summer feels easier somehow. Maybe its the people or maybe its just that I've done this before.

I knew from the moment that summer ended, that I would be back again the next summer.

Training always feels like a blur. It is a lot of information all at once between learning how to structure lessons and the social justice education. I remember last summer feeling like I couldn't possibly remember everything they taught us in training. Between all of the training sessions, we make posters to fill the hallways at school. It makes the school feel more like a home for these students.



The Mission of Breakthrough Pittsburgh


Breakthrough Collaborative has many locations all over the United States. The goal for each organization is to help students from marginalized backgrounds get into college. These students begin Breakthrough the summer after 6th grade, and the organization works with them all the way until they graduate. The majority of individuals that pursue higher education come from more privileged backgrounds. Breakthrough tries to help provide opportunities for students that are frequently overlooked.


I loved being a part of Breakthrough last summer. I loved working with the other teaching fellows and the students. It was incredible to learn more about teaching, but also about social justice and how to help students from marginalized backgrounds. I knew from the moment that summer ended, that I would be back again the next summer.

bottom of page